Home   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Community Search
News & Press: Legislative

MBIA awards 2018 Mayor's Cup at the Detroit Boat Show

Wednesday, February 21, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Amanda Wendecker

MBIA awards 2018 Mayor’s Cup at the Detroit Boat Show

SMG/Cobo Center and the Detroit Regional Convention Facility Authority have been awarded the 2018 Mayor’s Cup Award, by the Michigan Boating Industries Association (MBIA) for the long-standing partnership between these two entities and the MBIA in the production of the Detroit Boat Show.  

The presentation of the award took place on February 17 at the ribbon cutting to open the 60th annual Detroit Boat Show. Claude Molinari of Cobo Center and Patrick Bero, CEO and CFO of the DRCFA accepted the awards.

“Cobo Center and the DRCFA have been and continue to be supportive and valuable partners of the Detroit Boat Show,” said MBIA Executive Director Nicki Polan. “The Detroit Boat Show moved to Cobo Center in 1972 and we value the improvements to Cobo, which allow our event to be held in a state-of-the-art facility.”  

The Mayor’s Cup Award started in 1984 and 32 individuals have been recognized since its inception. The list includes Michigan municipalities, elected officials, organizations and individuals that have made an outstanding contribution to recreational boating.

Past recipients of the Mayor's Cup have been:

2018       Detroit Regional Convention Facility Authority

SMG/Cobo Center

2016       Bill Boik, MDNR

2015       Senator Jack Brandenburg

2014       MI Representative Andrea LaFontaine and
                MI Senator David Robertson
2011       Rick Snyder, Governor, State of Michigan

2010       Candice Miller, U.S. Representative               

2009       Captain Luke Clyburn, Captain of the Pride of Michigan

2008       Grosse Pointe Yacht Club

2007       SOS Terri Lynn Land & Lt. Governor John Cherry

2006       WJR Radio, The Voice of the Great Lakes

2005       Ray Underwood, Muchmore Harrington Smalley

2004       MI Representative Randy Richardville

2003       Rodney Stokes, MI DNR

2002       MI State Senator Joel Gougeon

2001       Dr. Ed Mahoney, MSU

2000       Dawn Riley, America True

1999       Michigan Representative William J. Callahan

1998       Candice S. Miller, Michigan Secretary of State

1997       O.J. Scherschligt, MDNR
1996       The Nautical Mile Association

1994       Michigan Senator Gilbert J. DiNello

1992       J.P. McCarthy, WJR Radio

1991       St. Aubin Marina, Detroit

1990       Dryland Marina in Grandville

1989       Rep. Tom Hickner and Sen. Phil Arthurhultz

1988       City of Harrison

1987       City of East Jordan

1986       City of Rogers City

1985       City of Grand Haven

1984       Mayor Coleman A. Young

more Latest News
more Calendar

5/19/2018 » 5/25/2018
National Safe Boating Week

6/1/2018 » 6/3/2018
Mt. Clemons Art Fair

Michigan Boating Industries Association | 32398 Five Mile Road Livonia, MI 48154 | Phone: 734.261.0123 | Fax: 734.261.0880

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal