Home   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Community Search
News & Press: RBEC

MBIA awards Bill Boik with pretigious Mayor's Cup for 2016

Monday, December 12, 2016   (0 Comments)

Bill Boik has been awarded the 2016 Mayor’s Cup Award, by the Michigan Boating Industries Association (MBIA) for his outstanding contributions to the recreational boating industry in Michigan. Boik has been recognized by the MBIA Board of Directors for his leadership in the MDNR’s boating program in the Waterways Planning Unit since 1997. Boik retired from the MDNR in January, 2016.

The presentation of the award took place on December 8 at the MBIA’s annual Awards Luncheon during their annual conference.

“Bill has always been a loyal friend and valuable resource to MBIA over the past 20 plus years,” said MBIA Executive Director Nicki Polan. “MBIA has worked with Bill to achieve many significant improvements to Michigan’s expansive boating facilities and boating access points.  His retirement is a significant loss to boating in Michigan as he takes a tremendous amount of knowledge and history with him which cannot be documented on paper.”  

The Mayor’s Cup Award started in 1984 and 32 individuals have been recognized since its inception. The list includes Michigan municipalities, elected officials, organizations and individuals that have made an outstanding contribution to recreational boating.

Past recipients of the Mayor's Cup have been:

2016       Bill Boik, MDNR

2015       Senator Jack Brandenburg

2014       MI Representative Andrea LaFontaine and
                MI Senator David Robertson
2011       Rick Snyder, Governor, State of Michigan

2010       Candice Miller, U.S. Representative               

2009       Captain Luke Clyburn, Captain of the Pride of Michigan

2008       Grosse Pointe Yacht Club

2007       SOS Terri Lynn Land & Lt. Governor John Cherry

2006       WJR Radio, The Voice of the Great Lakes

2005       Ray Underwood, Muchmore Harrington Smalley

2004       MI Representative Randy Richardville

2003       Rodney Stokes, MI DNR

2002       MI State Senator Joel Gougeon

2001       Dr. Ed Mahoney, MSU

2000       Dawn Riley, America True

1999       Michigan Representative William J. Callahan

1998       Candice S. Miller, Michigan Secretary of State

1997       O.J. Scherschligt, MDNR
1996       The Nautical Mile Association

1994       Michigan Senator Gilbert J. DiNello

1992       J.P. McCarthy, WJR Radio

1991       St. Aubin Marina, Detroit

1990       Dryland Marina in Grandville

1989       Rep. Tom Hickner and Sen. Phil Arthurhultz

1988       City of Harrison

1987       City of East Jordan

1986       City of Rogers City

1985       City of Grand Haven

1984       Mayor Coleman A. Young

more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Michigan Boating Industries Association | 32398 Five Mile Road Livonia, MI 48154 | Phone: 734.261.0123 | Fax: 734.261.0880

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal